Our priorities

Living in our city. 100% committed to a people-friendly city.

Our City. This is where our homes are, where we work, where we live

There are around 115,000 of us living in the City. And 170,000 of us come to work here every day. We live in a city that is growing at a phenomenal rate.

Much faster than in any other European city. And it keeps growing, so that by the year 2030, we could number 165,000 residents, with 240,000 people working here.

Yet city housing has become unaffordable for most people, roads are inundated with traffic at peak times. And city neighbourhoods are suffering the consequences of too many construction sites.

Rapid growth brings with it important challenges. We need to face up to these challenges in a systematic manner if we want to have a city that works for us. Not just a city where we happen to be living right now, but a place where we really feel at home. A city where we live together as neighbours and with a real sense of community.

A people-friendly city does not happen on its own. It is an ambition that cannot be achieved with liberal “laisser faire” politics. Managing without clear objectives and direction won’t bring us forward. Nor will policies that focus only on the city centre with its emphasis on large office buildings. We need policies that put the emphasis also on residents, on our lives and our needs.

Our city needs above all, politicians who will work towards this goal rather than shy away from their responsibilities. Politicans who don’t just talk nicely around problems and look for excuses but who will devote all their time and energy to solving them. Politicans who don’t just manage but who come up with solutions.

Living in our city requires our 100% commitment to …

  • mobility that keeps us on the move.
  • a city that also provides homes for young people and young families.
  • a city that offers friendly neighbourhoods and attractive public spaces.
  • a city that guarantees assistance and safety for all of us.
  • a city with a dynamic and creative commercial environment.
  • a City Council that offers us new services and more public participation.

That‘s what the CSV candidates are standing for. For our city.

For better quality of life in our city. To make our city a great place to live!

Our 100% commitment to mobility that keeps us on the move.

Our city will be people-friendly when we can move around easily, safely and securely, and quickly when we need to. Nothing seems to move these days in our city, neither forwards nor backwards. The number of people who work in the city far exceeds the number of people who actually live here.

Bringing homes closer to jobs in the city thus avoiding traffic jams could greatly reduce stress levels in our daily lives. This is why CSV will step up the amount of housebuilding and, in particular, affordable housing in the city.

At the same time we will extend all forms of mobility wherever it makes sense to do so. We especially need wider pedestrian paths; a proper network of secure cycle lanes; bus lanes on all main roads and a new circular bus service around the city; new tram routes towards the west and east of the city; a new station/transit centre for the “Porte de Hollerich”; new road by-passes and other measures to discourage non-local traffic from cutting through residential neighbourhoods.

Our 100% commitment to a city that also provides homes for young people and young families.

Our city will be people-friendly if young adults and young families have the means to live in the city. With the CSV, the City Council would build many more affordable new homes, to be offered for sale or rented out.

New homes would be built mainly where large open spaces are still available in the city (Kirchberg and in the west of the city). Here, we would create new, environmentally friendly neighbourhoods with a more urbane and sustainable character, with all the necessary infrastructure and facilities.

At the same time we would ensure that the development of existing neighbourhoods is restricted inorder to maintain our quality of life.

Our 100% commitment to a city that offers friendly neighbourhoods and attractive public spaces.

Our city will be people-friendly when it provides the right framework for living together, when it has its own identity and a particular flair. When it is like no other city.

The CSV wants to make our green open spaces and other public spaces more attractive, cleaner, and more secure. The Petrusse valley and our large municipal parks will be further developed to provide more leisure activities such as children’s playgrounds, puppet shows, botanical gardens, open-air swimming pool, kiosks.

We also need to renovate public spaces in our neighbourhoods and involve local residents. All neighbourhoods need spaces, whether large or small, where we can meet, have fun and enjoy being together. Spaces where small local shops and cafés can thrive.

The list of streets, squares, buildings and houses that must be protected because of their architectural and historical interest needs to be systematically kept up to date according to clear and transparent criteria.

Our 100% commitment to a city thatguarantees assistance and safety for all of us.

Our city will be people-friendly when we aim for solidarity and mutual respect. Every one of us has a right to live their life in a dignified, autonomous and secure manner.

The CSV will further develop assistance for those of us who are in need and can no longer look after themselves. We will create smaller, decentralised day centres and care homes with intensive
and personalised support and a single contact and coordination point. We will engage with other large town councils in the country on how they can also offer services such as “Streetwork”, “Nuetsfoyer” and “Fixerstuff”. We will create “Quartiersstuffen” to provide social and cultural activities that will strengthen our experiences of living together.

The CSV will ensure that our personal and collective security is enhanced. In addition to increasing police presence in our neighbourhoods, we will ensure that in future the “Agents municipaux” have the power to deliver administrative penalty notices for breaches of municipal regulations. Police will be given the right to send off people for public disorder and breaching the peace.).

Our 100% commitment to a city with a dynamic and creative commercial environment.

Our city will be people-friendly when it can offer us all that we need for our daily lives. Our city must provide a wide variety of shops and services.

The CSV is committed to a dynamic commercial environment in our city. Not only in the city centre, but also in our neighbourhoods. To safeguard the future availability of small local businesses such as grocers, butchers, bakers and newsagents, the City Council would have a pre-emption right to acquire.

So that if a local business were to close, the Council could take over the contract or business to pass it on to another interested party.

To diversify the commercial environment, a coveredmarket would be built on the “Place du Théâtre”. Market stalls would be made available at reasonable rates, with priority given to innovative businesses

Our 100% commitment to a City council that offers us new services and more public participation.

Our city is people-friendly if it simplifies our lives and fosters community life. It is all the more so if it keeps listening to us, even in between elections..

With the CSV, new services will be developed and made available to residents, e.g. more intelligent and efficient mobility systems, roadworks coordination and recycling management. To ensure that they match real needs, these new services would be designed with the participation of residents, startups and businesses.

The HotCity Wi-fi network will be extended to cover the entire city. New technologies give us the means to increase direct democracy and direct contact with politicians and Council officials. Direct personal contact remains important. With this in mind, the opening times of the Bierger Center will be made more flexible.

Nos Priorités

Vivons notre ville. Un engagement à 100% pour une Ville humaine et conviviale.

Nous sommes désormais 115.000 personnes à habiter en Ville et 170.000 personnes à y travailler. En bref, nous vivons dans une Ville qui connaît une forte croissance, une croissance supérieure à celle de n’importe quelle autre capitale en Europe.

Cette forte croissance pose des défis importants à notre Ville, des défis que nous devrons aborder avec ferveur si nous désirons avoir une Ville orientée vers l’homme et la convivialité. Une Ville que nous n’avons pas choisie de façon arbitraire, mais qui représente un véritable chez nous. Une Ville où nous ne vivons pas dans l’anonymat, mais ensemble entre voisins, en tant que communauté.

Pourtant, une Ville humaine et conviviale ne se construit pas par elle-même. Une politique libérale du « Laisser faire » ne satisfera pas ces ambitions. Une gestion au hasard reposant sur une politique visant prioritairement le centre-ville avec ses grands complexes de bureaux ne peut pas constituer une solution pour l’avenir. Continuer dans cette voie nous mènera dans une impasse.

Pour que notre Ville soit humaine et conviviale les politiciens doivent assumer leurs responsabilités et travailler de façon conséquente afin d’atteindre leurs objectifs. Nous voulons des politiciens qui n’essaient pas de trouver des excuses à des problèmes, mais qui investissent leur temps et leur énergie afin de les résoudre. Nos politiciens doivent faire suivre les actes aux paroles.

Vivre notre Ville requiert …

… notre engagement à 100% pour une mobilité qui progresse.

… notre engagement à 100% pour des logements abordables pour nos jeunes et nos jeunes familles.

… notre engagement à 100% pour des quartiers vivants et avec des espaces publics attrayants.

… notre engagement à 100% pour plus d’assistance et de sécurité.

… notre engagement à 100% pour un commerce dynamique et créatif.

… notre engagement à 100% pour l’innovation et plus de participation.

Nous nous engageons à 100% pour une Ville humaine et conviviale.

Notre engagement à 100% pour une mobilité qui progresse.

Notre Ville est humaine et conviviale, si nous pouvons nous déplacer sereinement, en toute sécurité et, si nécessaire, rapidement. Cependant, les rues en ville sont fréquemment encombrées. En effet, il a y a plus de travailleurs frontaliers que d’habitants qui viennent travailler quotidiennement chez nous.

Avoir moins de stress au quotidien grâce à une réduction des embouteillages demande un rapprochement du lieu d’habitation et du lieu de travail. Voilà pourquoi le CSV s’engage à construire plus de logements en ville et surtout à des prix abordables.

En même temps, nous développerons toutes les différentes formes de mobilité, non pas de façon arbitraire mais suivant la demande. Ainsi il nous faudrait des trottoirs larges pour les piétons; un réseau cohérent de pistes cyclables; des voies réservées à l’autobus sur les routes principales et une ligne d’autobus circulaire; de nouvelles voies de tram vers l’ouest et l’est de la Ville;  une nouvelle Gare/pôle d’échanges pour la „Porte de Hollerich“; et concernant le trafic de transit, des contournements et des mesures dissuasives pour les quartiers résidentiels.

Notre engagement à 100% pour des logements abordables pour nos jeunes et nos jeunes familles.

Notre Ville est humaine et conviviale, si nos jeunes et les jeunes familles peuvent continuer à vivre en Ville. Le CSV créera ainsi plus de logements. Ces logements seront loués ou vendus par la Ville à des prix abordables.

De nouveaux logements seront créés prioritairement sur les grandes étendues qui existent déjà en Ville (Kirchberg, ouest de la Ville) pour y former des quartiers urbains à caractéristiques écologiques, équipés de toutes les infrastructures et équipements nécessaires.

Afin de garantir la qualité de vie, les quartiers existants ne grandiront que de façon modérée.

Notre engagement à 100% pour des quartiers vivants et avec des espaces publics attrayants.

Notre Ville est humaine et conviviale si elle nous propose le cadre pour une vie en commun authentique et si elle a une identité et un flair qui lui sont propres.

Avec le CSV, les espaces verts et les endroits publics seront plus attirants, sécurisés et propres.  La Vallée de la Pétrusse et les grands parcs au centre-ville seront transformés en des endroits propices à la détente, proposant par exemple des aires de jeu et des terrains de sport, un théâtre de marionnettes, un carrousel, un jardin botanique, une piscine ouverte, un parc d’aventure, des kiosques …

Le CSV a l’intention de réaménager les endroits publics dans nos quartiers, tout en impliquant les citoyens. Des lieux de rencontre où l’on peut se divertir et où le commerce local et les cafés du coin peuvent s’installer, doivent être créés dans tous nos quartiers.

Une liste des rues, des places, des bâtiments et des maisons qui sont à protéger en raison de leur architecture particulière ou de leur histoire, doit être réalisée de façon systématique, transparente et d’après des critères précis.

Notre engagement à 100% pour plus d’assistance et de sécurité

Notre Ville est humaine et conviviale si elle fait preuve de respect et de solidarité. Il faut soutenir et encourager ces deux valeurs, car chaque homme a le droit de vivre en autonomie et dignité.

Le CSV a l’intention de développer l’offre d’aides proposée à ceux et à celles  d’entre nous qui sont en détresse et qui dépendent de l’aide d’autrui. Des structures d’accueil plus petites et décentralisées, offrant un accompagnement et un encadrement plus poussés et personnalisés, seront créées. Un accueil unique sera créé pour coordonner le travail de ces structures. Une collaboration plus poussée avec d’autres grandes communes sera favorisée en ce domaine. La convivialité en société sera renforcée par des activités culturelles et sociales qui auront lieu dans des points de rencontre (« Quartiersstuffen ») qui seront créés dans les quartiers.

Le CSV veut renforcer le sentiment de sécurité individuel et collectif des citoyens. À côté d’une présence sur le terrain plus régulière et visible des agents de police, les agents municipaux auront le droit de sanctionner les infractions aux règlements communaux de police et de prononcer des sanctions administratives. En cas d’infraction contre l’ordre public, la police aura le droit d’ordonner une interdiction de fréquenter certains lieux (« Platzverweis »).

Notre engagement à 100% pour un commerce dynamique et créatif.

Notre Ville est humaine et conviviale si elle nous fournit les services et biens nécessaires au quotidien. Notre Ville doit offrir une large gamme de magasins et de services.

Le CSV s’engage pour un commerce dynamique en Ville, que ce soit au centre-ville ou dans les différents quartiers. Pour éviter la disparition des petits commerces indépendants (épicerie, boucherie, boulangerie, kiosque à journaux, …), il faut que la Ville dispose d’un droit de préemption commercial. En cas de fermeture d’un commerce, la commune aura en premier le droit de reprendre le contrat ou le fonds de commerce, qui sera par la suite retransmis à un autre commerce.

Pour élargir l’offre de commerces au centre-ville, il est prévu de créer un Marché couvert sur la Place du Théâtre qui regroupera prioritairement une offre commerciale innovatrice et créative grâce à des loyers modérés.

Notre engagement à 100% pour l’innovation et plus de participation

Notre Ville est humaine et conviviale si elle facilite et favorise la vie en société. Cela passe notamment par une meilleure implication des citoyens dans la planification de divers projets, y compris en dehors des périodes électorales.

Le CSV veut développer de nouveaux services innovants pour les citoyens, par exemple en matière de mobilité ou au niveau de la gestion, des chantiers ou des déchets. Ces services doivent être développés ensemble avec les citoyens, les Start-ups et les entreprises pour correspondre aux besoins réels du marché.

Un autre point est le développement du réseau WIFI de HotCity sur l’ensemble du territoire de la Ville, pour offrir à chaque citoyen l’accès à tous les services.

Les nouvelles technologies permettent aussi d’impliquer davantage les citoyens et favorisent le dialogue avec les élus et le personnel de la Ville. Le CSV veut créer un forum d’échange sur Internet pour les citoyens afin de leur permettre d’influer sur les discussions et décisions du conseil communal. Les horaires d’ouverture du Biergerzenter seront rendus plus flexibles.